Activision Teases Guitar Hero Announcement For Tomorrow


It’s been little over a month since Harmonix announced plans to revive the dormant Rock Band music series for a fourth installment, and now it appears as though Activision is gearing up for an encore of its own if a teaser clip is to be believed. That’s right, according to the footage above, the publisher looks set to be bring Guitar Hero following a five-year hiatus.

Tethered with the tagline “It’s about to get real,” the short, 15-second long clip doesn’t exactly give fans much to go on; however, all is set to be revealed tomorrow, April 14, at 8am PT/11am ET/3pm GMT. Will it be a fully-fledged reboot? Or, in the style of Harmonix, an announcement pertaining to Guitar Hero 4? Indeed it could be none of the above, though there have been murmurings pertaining to a Guitar Hero reboot for some time, and it could well be the case that Activision will officially announce the title tomorrow before detailing the game in full when E3 rolls around in June.

Whether or not the industry is ready for another wave of rhythm-based titles will ultimately be determined by the reception of each title when they do release, but given how quickly the genre receded from the limelight due to over-saturation a few years back, we’re hoping that this second coming will be a much more successful venture for both Harmonix and Activision.

Check back with We Got This Covered at 8am PT/11am ET/3pm GMT when we’ll have a full rundown of what Activision has to announce. Will it herald the long-awaited return of Guitar Hero? Time will tell.

Source: VG247

comments powered by Disqus
All Posts
Loading more posts...