[Updated] Alleged Battlefield 5 Art Fuels Speculation Of World War I Setting


Update: Evidence continues to mount that Battlefield 5 – now said to be titled Battlefield 1 – will take place during the throes of World War 1, and a pre-order pack unearthed by Reddit claims that the sequel is on course to release on October 18, 2016.

Original story: With an official unveiling slated for later this evening, news and speculative rumors regarding DICE’s Battlefield 5 are beginning to flood the four corners of the Internet.

Indeed, if yesterday’s all-too-brief teaser suggested the studio’s shooter sequel will be rooted in a period setting – that shadow cast on the soldier’s face looked awfully like that of a zeppelin – a piece of artwork unearthed by one eagle-eyed NeoGAF user adds fuel to that fire.

Pulled from an advertisement on the Xbox One dashboard, the alleged Battlefield 5 image features a caped war hero standing beneath a zeppelin, indicating that DICE’s upcoming title will indeed be set during the early 1900s – likely World War I. Expect to learn much more very soon indeed.

Promising the “first look at the future of Battlefield,” today’s reveal event will begin at 1pm PT/4pm ET/9pm BST, followed by a presentation of the 2016 sequel. According to DICE, it’s a showcase that will offer “insight into the minds of the developers as you hear from the Creative Director Lars Gustavsson and Lead Producer Aleksander Grondal on the past, present and the future of Battlefield. You will be able to join in the conversation as we open the floor to questions from viewers.”

Battlefield 5 is expected to drop for PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC later in 2016. But what do you make of the alleged period setting? As always, let us know by commenting below.

Source: NeoGAF

All Posts