It’s Official, Microsoft To Announce Next Xbox On May 21st


It's Official, Microsoft To Announce Next Xbox On May 21st

It has been rumored that Microsoft was planning to debut their next generation Xbox (Xbox 720/Durango) this May for quite some time now, however, the company has now made it official. The successor to the popular Xbox 360 will finally be revealed during a special live streamed press event on the Xbox campus on Tuesday May 21, 2013 at 1pm ET/10am PT/17:00 GMT.

The announcement was made via a post on the Major Nelson blog, which reads:

“On Tuesday May 21st, we’ll mark the beginning of a new generation of games, TV and entertainment. On that day, we’ll be holding a special press event on the Xbox campus and we invite you to join us via the live global stream that will be available on, Xbox LIVE and broadcast on Spike TV if you are in the US or Canada.”

“On that day, we’ll share our vision for Xbox, and give you a real taste of the future. Then, 19-days later at the Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3) in Los Angeles, we’ll continue the conversation and showcase our full lineup of blockbuster games.”

“We are thrilled to pull back the curtain and reveal what we’ve been working on.”

For well over a year now we have heard (often conflicting) rumors about Microsoft’s next generation Xbox, suggesting that it will be everything from an always-on, internet required, used game blocking machine, to almost the exact opposite. It is unclear exactly how many of these next-gen Xbox rumors the company is planning to clear up at the big press event, but the reveal should finally provide us with a solid outline of what we can expect to see when it hits retail shelves (presumably) later this year.

WGTC will be covering the next generation Xbox event on May 21st. Stay tuned as we’ll be sure to report on all the important details as they are announced.

Source: Major Nelson

comments powered by Disqus
All Posts