PSA: Sony To Take PlayStation Network Down For Extensive Maintenance Next Week

By

PSA: Sony To Take PlayStation Network Down For Extensive Maintenance Next Week

 

PlayStation owners, take note, for Sony has sounded the community klaxon to announce when the PlayStation Network will be taken offline for a bout of scheduled maintenance.

According to PSN Status, the service will be down for approximately 9 hours on Monday, May 11, providing the company doesn’t run into any unexpected technical hitches in the process. Hey, it’s happened in the past.

Due to be taken offline at 7:30pm PT/10:30pm ET, PlayStation users won’t be able to access the network until 5am PT/8am ET, again, this is going off of Sony’s own estimates.

In tandem with today’s update, the company released the following message, which cites that the primary reason for the downtime is to improve the security and overall performance of the PSN.

We endeavor to ensure that PlayStation Network services are available at all times. However, occasionally Sony Entertainment Network may need to be taken offline so we can perform essential maintenance. This is to ensure our network continues to run smoothly and securely and to provide you with new and updated services.

Should the PlayStation Network remain offline for longer than expected, we’ll be sure to update you on its status on Monday, May 11.

Source: Sony

All Posts
Loading more posts...