Splatoon 2 Global Testfire To Go Live In Late March

By
x

When Splatoon 2 was announced as part of the Nintendo Switch blow-out event back in January, some may have been disappointed at the news that the title wouldn’t be arriving at launch. While the sequel still won’t see a release until this summer, we do know now that we’ll get the chance to test out the title beforehand.

Nintendo has announced that Switch owners will be able to partake in the Splatoon 2 Global Testfire from March 24-26. The testing will be open to all those who own the console and have the internet capability to properly test the game out. While specifics regarding exactly content will be demoed haven’t been released, we do know that the new Splat Dualies weapon will be usable, as well as reworked versions of the Splat Roller and Splat Charger.

The dates and times for the Global Testfire are as follows:

March 24:

  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT/3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT/11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 25:

  • 4-4:59 a.m. PT/7-7:59 a.m. ET
  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT/3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT/11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 26:

  • 4-4:59 a.m. PT/7-7:59 a.m. ET

In addition to the Global Testfire announcement, Nintendo also revealed two new features for Splatoon 2. The Private Battle Spectator View will let players watch a Private Battle from multiple angles in order to study opponents or learn new techniques. The sequel will also introduce LAN Play, which will allow gamers to link up to 10 consoles (8 players, 2 viewers) for local multiplayer play.

Finally, it’s been confirmed that all previously released Splatoon amiibos will be compatible with the upcoming game. I’m sure Splatoon 2 specific figurines will be released in the future, but it’s nice to know that all of the older figures will still serve a purpose going forward.

With the Nintendo Switch releasing in less than a month now, expect additional information on both the console and Splatoon 2 to come fast and furious over the coming weeks.


All Posts