Guitar Hero Live Release Date Announced For October, New Trailer Showcases GHTV Feature


Ensuring that Harmonix and its reinvigorated Rock Band 4 doesn’t steal all of the limelight in October, Activision has today confirmed that Guitar Hero Live – its own modernized take on the musical genre – will debut across  PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, Xbox 360 and Wii U on October 20.

According to the publisher, the base game and the all-new guitar controller will be bundled together for $99, and in the above trailer we see how the revised peripheral is changing things up in FreeStyle Games’ upcoming reboot. Guitar Hero TV, for instance, is an always-online mode that will provide fans with a continually-updated roster of musical videos to rock along to, and this playlist will boast the latest in greatest songs storming up the charts.

Not only that, but GHTV will allow budding rockstars to compete with friends and online companions over the interwebs or, if you want to hone your rocking skills on your lonesome, the Live section will have you playing from a set list of songs in front of a live, fully dynamic audience. In tandem with the release date being announced, Activision added yet more tracks to the game’s ever-growing playlist, and you can check out the new additions down below.

Guitar Hero Live will take to the stage on October 20.

“The Lazy Song” — Bruno Mars
“American Idiot” — Green Day
“Lust for Life” — Iggy Pop
“Before He Cheats” — Carrie Underwood
“Thunder Kiss ‘65” — White Zombie
“Under Cover of Darkness” — The Strokes
“Are You Gonna Be My Girl?” — Jet
“Freak on a Leash” — Korn
“Thunder on the Mountain” — Bob Dylan
“Higher Ground” — Red Hot Chili Peppers
“Pedestrian at Best” — Courtney Barnett
“Bulls on Parade” — Rage Against the Machine
“Feels So Close” — Calvin Harris
“Come With Me Now “ — KONGOS
“Rimbaud Eyes” — Dum Dum Girls
“I Gotsta Get Paid” — ZZ Top
“Another is Waiting” — The Avett Brothers
“Breaking the Law” — Judas Priest
“Asleep at the Wheel” — Band of Skulls
“Best Day of My Life” — American Authors
“What Doesn’t Kill You” — Jake Bugg
“Sounds Like Balloons” — Biffy Clyro

Source: Activision