Harmonix Is Resurrecting Classic Tracks For Rock Band DLC In 2017


As we’ve learned over the last few years, licensing is a constant issue in the digital age of gaming. Music masters Harmonix certainly know this, as countless tracks have been pulled from the Rock Band Marketplace due to expired rights. This has been particularly unfortunate for those who came into the franchise with Rock Band Rivals, but the Boston-based studio has now come up with a solution.

With 2017 marking the 10 year anniversary of the franchise, Harmonix will be bringing back classic tracks throughout the year. Beginning this month, wanna-be rock stars will be able to grab three songs that previously appeared in past Rock Band titles. Coming from three different, but equally excellent, games, the returning tunes are:

  • Blue Oyster Cult: (Don’t Fear) The Reaper (Rock Band)
  • Kansas: Carry on Wayward Son (Rock Band 2)
  • All-American Rejects: Swing, Swing (Lego Rock Band)

“(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” and “Carry on Wayward Son” are two of the biggest classic rock hits that appeared in the franchise, while “Swing, Swing” holds appeal for any emo child who grew up to be a burnt out adult. If I already didn’t own these tracks through previous purchases, I would be pulling the trigger on each one.

For those that already have those tracks, fear not. Harmonix has a full slate of brand new songs set for release on the Rock Band Marketplace this month, as well. The nine new tunes run the gamut from classic rock staple to modern pop smash, and the complete listing can be seen below.

  • Avenged Sevenfold: The Stage
  • Fun.: Some Nights
  • Lady Gaga: Applause
  • Lady Gaga: A-YO
  • Lady Gaga: The Edge of Glory
  • Megadeth: Trust
  • OMI: Cheerleader (Felix Jaehn Remix)
  • Slipknot: Dead Memories
  • Toto: Hold The Line

Beginning this week, “The Stage,” “Trust” and “Dead Memories” can either be purchased separately or as part of the More Metal Pack 01. The pack carries a cost of $5.49, while the tracks run $1.99 apiece.

Additional lost tracks will be coming to Rock Band Rivals as DLC throughout 2017, so be on the look-out for what returns to the setlist over the next few months.