Kickstarter Funded Amplitude Launches For PlayStation 4 On January 5


Amplitude, Harmonix’s long-awaited sequel to the original rhythm action games released for the PlayStation 2, has finally been given a release date. The game will see a full release on January 5th, 2016, but those who pledged $40 or more to the title’s Kickstarter campaign will get early access on December 23.

But why, after all this time, has the studio decided that now’s a good time to resurrect the long-gestating series? Well, a statement on Amplitude‘s Kickstarter page says it all, really.

With the advancements in technology and the huge creative leaps forward our studio has taken, we believe we can rebuild Amplitude for current consoles and make it an even more amazing experience than before. We’re aiming to deliver an updated soundtrack, incredible visuals, and fine-tuned controls. These improvements will be layered on top of the core mechanics and hallmark difficulty that made both FreQuency and Amplitude such amazing experiences when they first debuted. We’re confident that we can make a game that will do its predecessors justice!

As well as the release date announcement, Harmonix have revealed the game’s full soundtrack:

  • “All The Time” – C418

  • “Assault on Psychofortress” – Single White Infidel

  • “Astrosight” – Inter:sect Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto

  • “Break for Me” – James Landino Ft. Noelle LeBlanc

  • “Concept” – Symbion Project

  • “Crazy Ride” – Insomniac Games

  • “Crypteque (1-2)” – Danny Baranowsky

  • “Crystal” – George & Jonathan

  • “Dalatecht” – Harmonix

  • “Decode Me” – Inter:sect Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto

  • “Digital Paralysis” – Harmonix

  • “Do Not Retreat” – Komputer Kontroller

  • “Dreamer” – Harmonix

  • “Energize” – Harmonix

  • “Entomophobia” – M-Cue

  • “Force Quit” – Jim Guthrie

  • “Human Love” – Harmonix

  • “I.C.U.” – Harmonix

  • “Impossible” – Darren Korb

  • “Lights” – Wolfgun

  • “Magpie” – Harmonix

  • “Muze (Amplitude Remix)” – Ingrid Lukas, Remix by Patrik Zosso and Nik Bärtsch

  • “Perfect Brain” – Harmonix

  • “Phantoms” – Freezepop

  • “Recession” – Jeff Allen Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto

  • “Red Giant” – Kodomo

  • “Supraspatial” – Jeff Allen Ft. Naoko Takamoto

  • “Synthesized” – Symbion Project

  • “Unfinished Business” – Shiohito Taki & Junichi Kamiunten

  • “Wayfarer” – Harmonix

  • “Wetware” – Harmonix

Amplitude is also expected to be released for the PlayStation 3, but there’s currently no word on when it’ll arrive.