The Artist Wins Producers Guild’s Top Honor, Surprises No One

Earlier tonight, The Producers Guild of America announced their awards for Best Productions in several categories including Theatrical Motion Picture, Animated Feature, TV Drama, and TV Comedy. Of course, the award everyone had their eye on is the Best Producer of Theatrical Motion Picture as its a very good indicator of which film will end up taking home the Best Picture Oscar.

In an announcement that surprised absolutely no one, the category was awarded to The Artist, the clear frontrunner throughout awards season. With this victory, the film now has an approximately 73% chance of winning Best Picture at the Oscars as the PGA’s top honor has coincided with the Academy’s Best Picture choice 16 out of 22 times.

This chance could increase should the Directors Guild and/or the Screen Actors Guild award the film with their own top honors. However, at the moment it’s looking like Martin Scorsese and Michel Hazanavicius are still battling it out for the DGA’s top honor, while the cast of The Help seems to have the strongest chance of winning top honors at the SAG awards.

The Adventures of Tintin also continues its streak after having won Best Animated Feature at the Golden Globes just last week. Many expected the award to go to Rango, the favorite throughout awards season, but it appears that its position may not be as solid as originally thought. Here’s hoping Tintin‘s able to nab the Oscar as well.

The DGA will announce their awards next Saturday which will tell us who has the best chance of taking home the Best Director Oscar next month. The Screen Actors Guild announces their awards on the 29th.

Please see below for a complete list of the PGA award winners:


Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Artist – Producer: Thomas Langmann

The award was presented by Annette Bening.

Producer Of The Year Award in Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Adventures Of Tintin – Producers: Peter Jackson, Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg

“We are shocked. This journey began 28 years ago,” said Kathleen Kennedy.

Producer Of The Year Award in Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Beats, Rhymes & Life: The Travels Of A Tribe Called Quest – Producers:
Michael Rapaport, Edward Parks (*additional producers eligibility pending
arbitration completion)

Michael Rappaport accepted and said: “I can’t believe we won. Oh shit. This is a completely independent movie.”

Award presented by Jessica Chastain (The Help).


The David L. Wolper Producer Of The Year Award In Long-Form Television:

Downton Abbey (Masterpiece) (PBS) – Producers: Julian Fellowes, Nigel Marchant, Gareth Neame

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer Of Episodic Television, Comedy:

Modern Family (ABC) – Producers: Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Jeffrey Richman, Dan O’Shannon, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

Presented by Melissa McCarthy (Mike & Molly, Bridesmaids)

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer Of Episodic Television, Drama:

Boardwalk Empire (HBO) – Producers: Eugene Kelly, Howard Korder, Stephen Levinson, Martin Scorsese, Rudd Simmons, Tim Van Patten, Terence Winter

Presented by Evan Rachel Wood (Mildred Pierce)

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

The Colbert Report (Comedy Central) – Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen T. Colbert, Richard Dahm, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart (*additional producers eligibility pending arbitration

Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

The Amazing Race (CBS) – Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Elise Doganieri, Jonathan Littman, Bertram van Munster, Mark Vertullo

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

American Masters (PBS) – Producers: Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks

News Programs:

60 Minutes (CBS)

Sports Programs:

30 For 30 (ESPN)

Children’s Programs:

Sesame Street (PBS)


Web Series:

30 Rock Presents Jack Donaghy, Executive Superhero (

(Source: Deadline)