Home Movies

Disney Plus confirms exactly where ‘Doctor Strange 2’ fits in the MCU timeline

That's not where we expected it to go.

doctor strange 2
via Marvel Studios

Today is a happy day for MCU fans as not only is there a new episode of Ms. Marvel to enjoy, but Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness is now officially streaming on Disney Plus. With its interdimensional scope and introduction of a few key new characters, the Benedict Cumberbatch sequel is easily one of the most significant Marvel productions of Phase Four so far. And now, thanks to the Mouse House’s platform, we know exactly where it fits into the franchise’s timeline.

With it becoming available on Disney Plus, Doctor Strange 2 has been added to the site’s official MCU chronological ranking of Marvel’s movies and TV shows. If you visit D+’s Marvel hub and scroll down a little, you’ll find the “Marvel Cinematic Universe in Timeline Order” list. This tells us that Multiverse of Madness occurs in a surprising place in the bigger MCU picture.

As you can see via the screenshot in the tweet below, Doctor Strange 2 has been officially classified as being set in between Eternals and Hawkeye. This helpfully tells us that Spider-Man: No Way Home — which is not on Disney Plus — must take place after Eternals, too, as we know Spidey 3 comes shortly before the events of MoM.

Although things have got hazy ever since Avengers: Endgame jumped forward five years, it’s believed that Eternals is set in fall 2024, with Hawkeye obviously based around Christmastime that same year. So, according to this Disney Plus ordering, that must mean that Doctor Strange 2 fits in somewhere in the late fall of 2024. Moon Knight and Ms. Marvel, meanwhile, shift things into 2025, which is the universe’s current present-day.

So there you have it. If you’re wanting to rewatch Multiverse of Madness as part of a Phase Four binge then make sure to stick it on in between viewings of Eternals and Hawkeye.

About the author

Christian Bone

Christian Bone is a Staff Writer/Editor at We Got This Covered and has been cluttering up the internet with his thoughts on movies and TV for a full decade, ever since graduating with a Creative Writing degree from the University of Winchester. He can usually be found writing about anything Marvel or DC, and yet, if you asked him, he'd probably say his favorite superhero film is 'The Incredibles.'