How Many Resident Evil Games Are There?

Resident Evil is one of the most important survival horror series in gaming history. The franchise introduced a heart-thumping zombie setting with just as many puzzles to solve as zombies to shoot. Stay alive, solve the game’s underlying mystery, and try not to get too scared.

In 1996, Capcom launched the first Resident Evil game for PlayStation 1 as a spiritual successor to Famicom Japanese survival horror game Sweet Home. The title quickly became a breakout hit and spawned two sequels and a spin-off for the original PS1, followed by dozens of follow-ups over the next four console generations.

Most recently, Capcom released Resident Evil Village for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S, ushering the series in to next-generation graphics and gameplay.

Are you new to Resident Evil and don’t know where to start? Read on for all the Resident Evil titles released over the past 30 years.

Every Resident Evil game ever released

Resident Evil Village Lycan

Right now, there are 28 games in the Resident Evil franchise. These games have launched for a wide range of different consoles over the years. The following list has been separated into console generations to make it clearer where you can check out each game.

First-generation console games

The following games were released when the PlayStation 1, Sega Saturn, Nintendo 64, and Dreamcast were the dominant consoles.

  • Resident Evil (1996)
  • Resident Evil 2 (1998)
  • Resident Evil 3: Nemesis (1999)
  • Resident Evil Survivor (2000)

Second-generation console games

These games were released during the PlayStation 2, Xbox, and Nintendo GameCube console era.

  • Resident Evil – Code: Veronica (2000)
  • Resident Evil Survivor 2 – Code: Veronica (2001)
  • Resident Evil Gaiden (2001)
  • Resident Evil (2002)
  • Resident Evil Zero (2002)
  • Resident Evil: Dead Aim (2003)
  • Resident Evil: Outbreak (2003)
  • Resident Evil: Outbreak: File #2 (2004)
  • Resident Evil 4 (2005)
  • Resident Evil: Deadly Silence (2006)

Third-generation console games

These games were released during the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and Nintendo Wii console era.

  • Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles (2007)
  • Resident Evil 5 (2009)
  • Resident Evil: The Darkside Chronicles (2009)
  • Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D (2011)
  • Resident Evil: Revelations (2012)
  • Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City (2012)
  • Resident Evil 6 (2012)

Fourth-generation console games

These games were released during the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch console era.

  • Resident Evil: Revelations 2 (2015)
  • Umbrella Corps (2016)
  • Resident Evil 7: Biohazard (2017)
  • Resident Evil 2 (2019)
  • Resident Evil 3 (2020)
  • Resident Evil: Resistance (2020)

Next-generation console games

These games were released during the PlayStation 5 and Xbox X/S console era.

  • Resident Evil Village (2021)