Your Complete Guide To The Star Wars Cinematic Universe


Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Released: December 16th, 2016

Runtime: 2hrs 13mins

Directed by: Gareth Edwards

Written by: John Knoll, Gary Whitta, Chris Weitz, Tony Gilroy

Starring: Felicity Jones, Mads Mikkelsen, Donnie Yen, Ben Mendelsohn, Alan Tudyk, Genevieve O’Reilly, Riz Ahmed, Forest Whitaker, Diego Luna, James Earl Jones, Jimmy Smits

Significant characters introduced: Jyn Erso, Galen Erso, Chirrut Imwe, Director Orson Krennic, K-2SO, Saw Gerrera, Captain Cassian Andor.

Notable universe developments: Darth Vader is seen at the earliest point of the peak of his powers within the Empire; the specifics of the origin of the Death Star are revealed; treachery occurs within the ranks of the Rebel Alliance as much as it does within the Empire.

Set shortly before the events of Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story tells the story that is briefly mentioned in that film’s opening crawl – of a band of Rebels steal the plans for the Empire’s ultimate weapon, known as the Death Star.

The father of Jyn Erso – Galen Erso (Mads Mikkelsen) – is an old friend of Director Orson Krennic (Ben Mendelsohn). Krennic has had Erso design a giant, fuelled structure, the true purpose of which was initially unknown to him. Erso has been living with his family in seclusion, but Krennic arrives to insist that Erso help him finish the structure, which has now been revealed to be a weapon of intergalactic destruction. Director Orson Krennic reports to Darth Vader. Years later, Erso’s adult daughter, Jyn (Felicity Jones) is recruited by the Rebel Alliance to steal the plans for the Death Star with a view to enabling its sabotage. Erso must work with a group of fellow outcasts to turn the tide of the conflict, and bring hope to the resistance.

All Posts
Loading more posts...