The 2016 Cannes Film Festival Line-Up Is Here


As one of the highest profile events on the film festival calendar, the announcement of the film selection for the Cannes Film Festival is always greatly anticipated. A broad range of cinema is always guaranteed, and this year is no exception.

With Mad Max: Fury Road director George Miller already known to be President of the 2016 Cannes competition Jury, we can now take a look at the feature films that will be included in the festival – which runs from May 11th to May 22nd, 2016.

Familiar names – such as Paul Verhoeven, Park Chan-Wook, Ken Loach, Sean Penn, Pedro Almodovar, Nicolas Winding Refn and Jim Jarmusch – will be among those competing for prestigious acknowledgement from the Jury, while several directorial debuts feature as entries in Un Certain Regard – from filmmakers such as Stephanie Di Giusto, Maha Haj and Michael O’Shea.

Opening Film

Cafe Society (Woody Allen)

Official Competition

Toni Erdmann (Maren Ade)
Julieta (Pedro Almodovar)
American Honey (Andrea Arnold)
Personal Shopper (Olivier Assayas)
The Unknown Girl (Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardennes)
It’s Only The End Of The World (Xavier Dolan)
Slack Bay (Bruno Dumont)
Paterson (Jim Jarmusch)
Staying Vertical (Alain Guiraudie)
Aquarius (Kleber Mendonça Filho)
Mal De Pierres (Nicole Garcia)
I, Daniel Blake (Ken Loach)
Ma’ Rosa (Brillante Mendoza)
Bacalaureat (Cristian Mungiu)
Loving (Jeff Nichols)
The Handmaiden (Park Chan-Wook)
The Last Face (Sean Penn)
Sierra Nevada (Cristi Puiu)
Elle (Paul Verhoeven)
The Neon Demon (Nicholas Winding Refn)

Un Certain Regard

Varoonegi (Behnam Behzadi)
Apprentice (Boo Junfeng)
Voir Du Pays (Delphine & Muriel Coulin)
La Danseuse (Stéphanie Di Giusto)
Eshtebak (Mohamed Diab)
The Red Turtle (Michael Dudok De Wit)
Fuchi Ni Tatsu (Fukada Kôji)
Omor Shakhsiya (Maha Haj)
Me’ever Laharim Vehagvaot (Eran Kolirin)
After The Storm (Hirokazu Koreeda)
Hymyilevä Mies (juho Kuosmanen)
La Larga Noche De Francisco Sanctis (Francisco Márquez & Andrea Testa)
Caini (Bogdan Mirica)
The Transfiguration (Michael O’Shea)
Captain Fantastic (Matt Ross)
Uchenik (Kirill Serebrennikov)

Out Of Competition

The BFG (Steven Spielberg)
Goksung (Na Hong-Jin)
Money Monster (Jodie Foster)
The Nice Guys (Shane Black)

Midnight Screenings

Gimme Danger (Jim Jarmusch)
The Train To Busan (Yeon Sang-Ho)

Special Sessions

L’ultima Spiaggia (Thanos Anastopoulos & Davide Del Degan)
Hissein Habré, Une Tragédie Tchadienne (Mahamat-Saleh Haroun)
La Mort De Louis XIV (Albert Serra)
Le Cancre (Paul Vecchiali)

In addition to these feature length categories, the festival also includes a selection of short films that compete for the Short Film Palme d’Or, and a range of short film projects in the Cinefondation section, which showcases the work of film school students.

Source: The Playlist