Sony Pegs PlayStation Network Maintenance For June 29; PlayStation App Receives Long-Awaited Update

By

Sony Pegs PlayStation Network Maintenance For June 29; PlayStation App Receives Long-Awaited Update

Sony will take the PlayStation Network offline on June 29 for a period of routine maintenance, according to a post on PSN Status.

In an announcement that will be music to the ears of PlayStation owners, the downtime itself is set to last approximately 90 minutes in total, with the company targeting “routine maintenance and improvements for PlayStation Network.” Much like past instances when PSN was taken offline, users won’t be able to access Account Management, PlayStation Video or the PlayStation Store itself. Our advice? Get all of your digital shopping down outside of the window to prevent any headaches.

Speaking of which, Sony has slated the maintenance for periods outside of prime time, with the network coming down at 9:30pm PDT, June 29. Here’s a breakdown of those dates and times in question.

Begins

9:30pm PT on June 29
12:30am ET/4:30am GMT on June 30

Ends

11:00pm PT on June 29
2:00am ET/6:00am GMT on June 30

In tandem with the announcement, Sony quietly released an update to the PlayStation App for Android and iOS devices. Introducing a standard swath of bug fixes, the most notable new feature is the ability to redeem PSN codes directly through the application itself. That’s right, the new-fangled addition will even allow PS owners to scan said code using the smartphone’s camera. Chalk one up for laziness!

According to posts on NeoGaf, the feature is still in its infancy, though its addition is certainly a welcome one for those who like to purchase their games on-the-go. Rounding out the PlayStation App update is the ability to access the PS Store from the Android version, while comments received whilst streaming content on the Internet will be displayed on the smartphone device, as opposed to cluttering up the screen.

Tell us, what do you make of the overhauled PlayStation App? Let us know in the comments below. As for the forthcoming PlayStation Network maintenance, be sure to plan your gaming accordingly on June 29.

Sony Pegs PlayStation Network Maintenance For June 29; PlayStation App Receives Long-Awaited Update

All Posts
Loading more posts...