American Hustle Takes The Top Prize At The New York Film Critics Circle Awards

download (43)

Awards season is officially underway and this week, the New York Film Critics Circle revealed their choices for the top films of 2013. As many predicted, David O. Russell’s American Hustle seems to be the film to beat this year, as the movie took home awards for Best Film, Best Screenplay and Best Supporting Actress. Pretty impressive, eh?

As for the other awards, there’s nothing too shocking here. Redford picked up Best Actor for All Is Lost, despite some tough competition, and Steve McQueen edged out some other talented candidates to pick up a well deserved award for Best Director for 12 Years a Slave.

Unfortunately, Martin Scorsese’s The Wolf of Wall Street is completely absent here, which I find a bit odd, as is Gravity, which is also a bit puzzling. Now to be fair, Wolf hasn’t officially opened yet and though it has screened for some critics, we haven’t seen any early reviews. That being said, one would assume that it’s going to play a significant part in this year’s awards race.

Gravity, on the other hand, has received nothing but acclaim and praise since its release, so it’s upsetting to see that it was completely shut out by the New York Film Critics Circle.

Regardless, awards season is starting to heat up and with such a strong batch of films all competing for the top prize, it will be interesting to see who goes home with gold on Oscar night.

Check out the full list of winners below and let us know whether or not you’re excited for American Hustle.

The 2013 New York Film Critics’ Circle Award Winners:

Best Film:
“American Hustle”

Best Director:
Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Screenplay:
Eric Singer & David O. Russell, “American Hustle”

Best Actress:
Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”

Best Actor:
Robert Redford, “All Is Lost”

Best Supporting Actress:
Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle”

Best Supporting Actor:
Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Cinematography:
Bruno Delbonnel, “Inside Llewyn Davis”

Best Non-fiction Film:
“Stories We Tell,” directed by Sarah Polley

Best Foreign Language Film:
“Blue is the Warmest Color,” directed by Abdellatif Kechiche

Best Animated Feature:
“The Wind Rises,” directed by Hayao Miyazaki

Best First Feature:
“Fruitvale Station,” directed by Ryan Coogler