Disney Reveals Official Star Wars Timeline And Names For All The Trilogies

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

There’s no shortage of Star Wars news coming out of the weekend’s D23 Expo, with Ewan McGregor officially confirmed to be returning as Obi-Wan Kenobi in a Disney Plus series, along with the first trailer for Jon Favreau’s highly-anticipated The Mandalorian. There will be plenty more information concerning a galaxy far, far away coming later today, too, but one of the most interesting developments to emerge from last night’s showcase was Lucasfilm releasing an official timeline of the entire Star Wars franchise for the first time ever.

In recent years, the chronology of Star Wars has become increasingly convoluted thanks to both the prequel and sequel trilogies, Anthology movies and the upcoming slate of Disney Plus shows. Not only that, but two other trilogies are also in development: one from Rian Johnson and the other from Game of Thrones showrunners David Benioff and D.B. Weiss.

Now, though, we have a nice clean timeline that lays everything out, and you can see it for yourself down below:

As you can see, the Prequel Trilogy, Star Wars: The Clone Wars, Solo: A Star Wars Story and the upcoming Obi-Wan Kenobi series are now known as the Age of Republic. The Original Trilogy, meanwhile, falls under the Age of Rebellion alongside Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Star Wars Rebels, The Mandalorian and the still-untitled Cassian Andor spinoff show, while the most recent sequels and Star Wars Resistance now comprise the Age of Resistance.

It appears as though Lucasfilm are taking a cue from Marvel Studios here in rebranding the franchise into distinct phases, but the release of an official timeline also goes a long way to clearing up some of the confusion surrounding exactly when some of the events in the Star Wars mythology take place.