Guardians Of The Galaxy Soundtrack And Tantalizing Behind The Scenes Image Revealed


Much of the marketing for Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy has leaned heavily on 1970s hits like Blue Swede’s “Hooked On A Feeling” or Norman Greenbaum’s “Spirit in the Sky,” and from the looks of the new track listing for the film’s soundtrack, those are just the tip of the iceberg.

While it’s common for comic book films to predominantly feature orchestral scores, James Gunn’s entry in the Marvel cinematic universe is anything but “common,” and the inclusion of soundtrack full of awesome hits from the 60’s and 70’s makes sense. The lead protagonist, Peter Quill, was a boy on Earth before he was jettisoned into space and became the “legendary outlaw” known as Star-Lord. It appears that this “Awesome Mix – Vol. 1” tape is one of his prized earthly possessions, which explains why he’s willing to risk his well-being to snatch his headphones and Walkman back from an alien prison guard.

You can pre-order the soundtrack, which will be released on July 29th, here, and check out the full track listing below:

1. Blue Swede – “Hooked on a Feeling”
2. Raspberries – “Go All the Way”
3. Norman Greenbaum – “Spirit in the Sky”
4. David Bowie – “Moonage Daydream”
5. Elvin Bishop – “Fooled Around and Fell in Love”
6. 10CC – “I’m Not in Love”
7. Jackson 5 – “I Want You Back”
8. Redbone – “Come and Get Your Love”
9. The Runaways – “Cherry Bomb”
10. Rupert Holmes – “Escape (the Pina Colada Song)
11. The Five Stairsteps – “O-O-H Child”
12. Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”


Apart from the soundtrack reveal, director James Gunn released a new behind the scenes image from the film as well, along with a tantalizing tease that may tie into yesterday’s rumor about a future Hulk/Guardians team-up film:

Marvel and Mark Ruffalo keep downplaying the idea of a Planet Hulk movie, but the Sakaaran soldiers featured in Gunn’s photo play heavily into the events of that storyline in the comics. It’s on their homeworld of Sakaar that the Hulk gets standed on and forced into gladiator combat. Either this is just a nice nod to fans, or Gunn is teasing the inclusion of Sakaar in a future Marvel film. I would argue the latter, considering Gunn didn’t have to mention these soldiers by name, and I doubt it’s a coincidence that this image get released the day after that Hulk/GotG news hit.

What do you think of the soundtrack and the new image? Do they help raise your excitement level for Guardians of the GalaxyLet us know in the comments below.