Paul Thomas Anderson’s Inherent Vice Unveils UK Trailer, Poster And Soundtrack Details


Paul Thomas Anderson’s next star-studded caper, the druggie mystery Inherent Vice, is priming audiences ahead of its December release. Following on from its debut at the New York Film Festival, which led to a torrent of critical praise, the wheels are in motion to ensure the word-of-mouth continues. Today, a triple whammy of new goodies has landed in the shape of a new UK trailer, banner poster and a rundown of the film’s official soundtrack.

We’ve already witnessed the first full-length trailer, which honed in on the movie’s comical angle. This newest preview, however, crafted for UK audiences by Anderson himself, goes one step further. As well as drafting in new footage of Joaquin Phoenix’s stoner private eye Doc Sportello, the trailer goes on to reveal details of a special preview screening set to take place in London this coming week. For filmgoers in the UK capital, tickets for two showings on Wednesday, November 19th at 7pm and 10.15pm, respectively, are available. The proceeds from both will directly benefit The Film Foundation.

For the fans of Thomas Pynchon’s original novel, the details of the official soundtrack ought to be worth perusing. Revealed online today, the album will feature a handful of songs mentioned in Pynchon’s novel, culled down from the whopping 100 that are listed in the book. In addition, track titles from the score penned by Jonny Greenwood have been made public in the full rundown, which you can see below. If you don’t like spoilers then look away now, as there’s a few character names mixed in amongst the more popular titles.

1. Shasta – Jonny Greenwood
2. Vitamin C – CAN
3. Meeting Crocker Fenway – Jonny Greenwood
4. Here Comes the Ho-Dads – The Marketts
5. Spooks – [unreleased Radiohead song] 6. Shasta Fay – Jonny Greenwood
7. Les Fleur – Minnie Riperton
8. The Chryskylodon Institute – Jonny Greenwood
9. Sukiyaki – KYU Sakamoto
10. Adrian Prussia – Jonny Greenwood
11. Journey Through the Past – Neil Young
12. Simba – Les Baxter
13. Under the Paving-Stones, the Beach! – Jonny Greenwood
14. The Golden Fang – Jonny Greenwood
15. Amethyst – Jonny Greenwood
16. Shasta Fay Hepworth – Jonny Greenwood
17. Any Day Now – Chuck Jackson

The 17 song compilation is certainly a veritable mixed bag of tracks that will be a lot of fun to hear in the movie when it’s released on December 12th. Before then, though, feel free to check out the latest banner, artwork for the soundtrack and a new still for Inherent Vice in the gallery below.

“Inherent Vice” is the seventh feature from Paul Thomas Anderson and the first ever film adaption of a Thomas Pynchon novel. When private eye Doc Sportello’s ex-old lady suddenly out of nowhere shows up with a story about her current billionaire land developer boyfriend whom she just happens to be in love with, and a plot by his wife and her boyfriend to kidnap that billionaire and throw him in a looney bin…well, easy for her to say. It’s the tail end of the psychedelic `60s and paranoia is running the day and Doc knows that “love” is another of those words going around at the moment, like “trip” or “groovy,” that’s being way too overused – except this one usually leads to trouble. With a cast of characters that includes surfers, hustlers, dopers and rockers, a murderous loan shark, LAPD Detectives, a tenor sax player working undercover, and a mysterious entity known as the Golden Fang, which may only be a tax dodge set up by some dentists… Part surf noir, part psychedelic romp – all Thomas Pynchon.”