Critics’ Choice TV Awards Announced

Matthew Rhys, Keri Russell and Holly Taylor in The Americans

Last night, the winners of the fifth annual Critics’ Choice TV Awards were revealed, with HBO and FX proving the biggest winners with five victories apiece. The two networks went head to head in multiple categories, though wins were somewhat evenly split – The Americans trumped Game of Thrones for Best Drama Series, but Silicon Valley beat You’re the Worst for Best Comedy Series, and so on.

The Critics’ Choice TV Awards has a tradition of picking fan favorites, and that didn’t change this year, with Empire‘s Taraji P. Henson picking up Best Actress (Drama), Jeffrey Tambor taking Best Actor (Comedy) for his revelatory performance in Transparent, and Better Call Saul‘s Bob Odenkirk and Jonathan Banks both triumphing in their categories. In the limited series category, HBO’s Olive Kitteridge (rightly) cleaned up, thought that entire category was a little strange this year, with American Crime and American Horror Story: Freak Show both contending despite the anthology series having new seasons on the way.

It was a great evening for freshman favorites, with wins for Silicon ValleyEmpireBetter Call Saul and Transparent, but also one that honored underrated veterans – The Americans gets snubbed for Emmys year after year and finally came into its own here, while Amy Schumer is only now getting serious attention for her Comedy Central series.

Check out the full list of winners on the next page.

Source: THR