Mortal Kombat 11 Leak Teases That Evil Dead’s Ash Is Coming As DLC

the Evil Dead

With Mortal Kombat 11 set to release in just a few short days, the leaks, rumors, and speculation have begun to ramp up. While developer NetherRealm Studios and Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment have already shown off the game through reveal events and previews, as launch day gets closer, one thing remains unclear: what characters will be arriving as DLC?

Thankfully, some rather clever data miners have shed a bit of light on that matter. As reported by GameRant, a recent leak of the game’s Nintendo Switch version has revealed a handful of fighters that will be coming as DLC, and there’s one name that will be very familiar to horror fans.

The Mortal Kombat 11 data mine leak lists “Ash” as an upcoming downloadable fighter. While this information has yet to be officially confirmed by NetherRealm or Warner Bros., it seems that “Ash” refers to Ash J. Williams, the hero from the long-running Evil Dead franchise.

Of course, including a horror icon such as Ash wouldn’t be out of the realm of possibility. In 2011’s Mortal Kombat reboot, NetherRealm released five DLC characters, one of which was Freddy Krueger, of A Nightmare on Elm Street fame. Similarly, Mortal Kombat X featured a handful of big-screen legends, including Jason Voorhees (Friday the 13th), Leatherface (Texas Chainsaw Massacre), and the Predator, from the film of the same name.

The full list of leaked fighters can be found below. At the time of writing, Shang Tsung is the only confirmed DLC character.

  • Shang Tsung
  • Joker
  • Nightwolf
  • Terminator
  • Sindel
  • Spawn
  • Ash
  • Fujin
  • Sheeva

If you haven’t done so already, be sure to read our preview of the game’s beta, and check back tomorrow for our full review of the launch version.

Mortal Kombat 11 is set to release on April 23rd for PC, PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch and Xbox One.