When does ‘Star Wars Jedi: Survivor’ take place?

Cal Kestis in 'Star Wars Jedi Survivor'
Image via EA

The Star Wars timeline can get confusing. With multiple characters outliving a human life span and the story being told non-chronologically, it’s easy to be confused as to where a story fits on the overall timeline. This is especially the case given that there are novels that aren’t canon, and projects set in different eras, like The High Republic era which takes place centuries before the Skywalker Saga. 

You might be excited to play Star Wars Jedi: Survivor, which is now set to release on April 28, 2023, and wonder exactly where in the overall Star Wars timeline it fits. So let’s take a look at the game and its predecessor and tell you exactly when Jedi: Survivor takes place.

Where does Star Wars Jedi: Survivor fit on the Star Wars timeline?

Cal Kestis in 'Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order'
Screenshot via EA

The first game, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, followed a young Jedi named Cal Kestis (Cameron Monaghan) after the events of Order 66. By the time you control Cal, he has been living a hidden life for a while. This takes place in 14 BBY (BBY stands for Before the Battle of Yavin, the climactic battle at the end of A New Hope) and five years after the end of the Clone Wars.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor is set five years after the events of the first game in 9 BBY. It’s unclear just how many characters we know and love from the wider Star Wars universe will be making an appearance in the game, but we could see a few stray Jedi that we know are currently laying low. 

For example, 9 BBY is the same year that the Disney Plus series Obi-Wan Kenobi is set. So, we might see Cal venture to Tatooine to seek out the hermit, who has managed to talk to the Force Ghost of his old master, Qui-Gon Jinn. Ahsoka Tano should also be adventuring, so there is a chance that we run into her as well. 

For some wider context, Andor takes place four years after the game, with the first season of the series set in 5 BBY. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope both take place in 0 BBY as the Battle of Yavin occurs at the end of A New Hope. So the game is set nine years before the events of the first Star Wars movie. 

Hopefully, this clears it up and you are excited at the idea that Cal could meet some more existing characters in the franchise in the second game.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will release on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series S, Xbox Series X, and PC on April 28, 2023.