Critics’ Choice Awards: Wonder Woman And Logan Nominated For Best Action Movie


Guillermo del Toro’s wondrous Cold War fairytale The Shape of Water may have dominated this morning’s Critics’ Choice Awards nominations (14!), but the Broadcast Film Critics Association still showed some love to two of 2017’s superhero gems: Logan and Wonder Woman.

Both were named alongside Thor: Ragnarok in the category of Best Action Movie, while Chris McKay’s (Nightwing) LEGO Batman Movie scored a nomination for Best Animated feature. Unsurprisingly, Ragnarok and Wonder Woman made the cut for Best Visual Effects – Chris Hemsworth even got a nod for Best Actor in a Comedy – but perhaps most exciting of all, Dafne Keen (X-23) and Patrick Stewart received nominations for their powerful performances in Logan.

The latter is up against Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project), Armie Hammer (Call Me By Your Name), Richard Jenkins (The Shape of Water), Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) and Michael Stuhlbarg (Call Me by Your Name) for Best Supporting Actor. Keen, on the other hand, finds herself in the company of Mckenna Grace (Gifted), Brooklynn Prince (The Florida Project), Millicent Simmonds (Wonderstruck), and the so-hot-right-now Jacob Tremblay (Wonder)

Here’s a reminder of those other nominations, starting with Best Visual Effects:

Blade Runner 2049


The Shape of Water

Thor: Ragnarok

War for the Planet of the Apes

Wonder Woman

This is by no means the first time – nor is it likely to be the last – that Wonder Woman and Logan were recognized for the visual excellence; on Monday, the Academy named both films as part of its preliminary shortlist for Best Visual Effects. For the record, today’s Critics’ Choice nominations also highlighted Lindy Hemming’s Costume Design on the Diana Prince origin movie.

Meanwhile, the nominees for Best Action Movie are as follows:

Baby Driver


Thor: Ragnarok

War for the Planet of the Apes

Wonder Woman

So, there you have it: as the awards momentum builds, Logan, Wonder Woman and Thor: Ragnarok have all made the cut for the 2018 Critics’ Choice Awards. Expect the ceremony to take place on January 11th, when the CCAs will act as a timely precursor to the official Oscar nominations (January 23rd).