DC Slates Wonder Woman, Justice League Films For 2017; Green Lantern Reboot Due 2020


During today’s Time Warner Investors Day, Warner Bros. and DC unveiled their extensive cinematic line-up, which maps out a hoard of superhero releases right up until 2020.

Chief among those recently-announced release dates is news of when we can expect Gal Gadot’s standalone Wonder Woman film and the long-gestating Justice League ensemble, with each property set to grace the silver screen in 2017.

Interestingly, the latter movie will be divided into two distinct parts, with Zack Synder in the directing chair for each chapter. Plus, given that fans will welcome a trio of films in between — focusing on Ezra Miller’s The Flash, Aquaman and Shazam, respectively — each Justice League segment could be entirely different beasts.

Speaking of which, The Flash and Aquaman will arrive shortly after the first entry in Zack Snder’s Justice League in 2018, whereas Shazam — starring Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson as Black Adam — and Justice League Part Two are pegged for 2019. The announcement didn’t stop there, however, as Warner Bros. and DC confirmed that a Cyborg film starring Ray Fisher will grace the silver screen in 2020 — a year that will, after much rumor and speculation, also see a Green Lantern reboot.

Before all that hustle and world-building bustle, though, Zack Synder’s much-anticipated Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice is very much serving as the crux of DC’s ambitious, Marvel-esque cinematic universe, and WB confirmed that the first film to follow in the Caped Crusader’s wake will be Suicide Squad which, in accordance with previous reports, will be directed by David Ayer. Here’s confirmation of the announcement, courtesy of Ben Fritz.

For a concise round-up of all today’s announcements, here’s how DC’s current line-up stands:

– “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” directed by Zack Snyder (2016)
– “Suicide Squad,” directed by David Ayer (2016)
– “Wonder Woman,” starring Gal Gadot (2017)
– “Justice League Part One,” directed by Zack Snyder, with Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill and Amy Adams reprising their roles (2017)
– “The Flash,” starring Ezra Miller (2018)
– “Aquaman,” starring Jason Momoa (2018)
– “Shazam” (2019)
– “Justice League Part Two,” directed by Zack Snyder (2019)
– “Cyborg,” starring Ray Fisher (2020)
– “Green Lantern” (2020)