Image Credit: Disney
Forgot password
Enter the email address you used when you joined and we'll send you instructions to reset your password.
If you used Apple or Google to create your account, this process will create a password for your existing account.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Reset password instructions sent. If you have an account with us, you will receive an email within a few minutes.
Something went wrong. Try again or contact support if the problem persists.
Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Every 2021 MCU movie gets shortlisted for an Academy Award

Every Marvel Cinematic Universe movie released this year has been shortlisted for at least one Academy Award.
This article is over 2 years old and may contain outdated information

2021 marks the first time the Marvel Cinematic Universe has released four feature films in a single calendar year, and they’ve all performed to varying degrees of admiration given the circumstances created by the pandemic.

Recommended Videos

Black Widow hauled in $379 million at the box office despite a day-and-date Disney Plus release that saw Scarlett Johansson slap the Mouse House with a lawsuit, while Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings went down a storm with audiences and set several commercial benchmarks.

Eternals is the worst-reviewed installment in MCU history but still managed to crack $400 million globally, before Spider-Man: No Way Home arrived to demolish everything in its path. While we’re not expecting any of them to be awards season contenders, the franchise’s quartet of fresh titled have all been shortlisted for an Oscar nonetheless.

All four are among the contenders to make the final list for Best Visual Effects, while No Way Home also landed recognition for Best Sound. That’s not exactly going to quell Kevin Feige’s belief that the Oscars are biased against his lavish comic book adaptations, and there will almost certainly be nominations in the technical categories forthcoming, but at least it indicates the MCU’s CGI wizards are doing consistently great work.

We Got This Covered is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
related content
Related Content
Image of Scott Campbell
Scott Campbell
News, reviews, interviews. To paraphrase Keanu Reeves; Words. Lots of words.