How to watch the ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ movies in order

Image via Universal Pictures

Fifty Shades of Grey has shown us a side of the movie industry that is daring and willing to show off whatever the books or source material has to offer. Be it graphic or sensual, the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy has effectively visualized what E.L. James wrote in her iconic novels.

If you are interested in such an endeavor and are willing to dive into the rabbit hole, then here is how to watch the Fifty Shades of Grey movies in chronological order.

1. Fifty Shades of Grey

Anastasia Steele blind folded
Image via Universal Studios

Released in 2015, Fifty Shades of Grey introduces us to an attractive, intelligent, and intimidating man who meets literature student Anastasia Steele when she goes to interview the affluent Christian Grey on behalf of her roommate Kate Kavanagh. Despite his cryptic restraint and guidance, the naïve Ana is shocked to realize she wants him and finds herself wanting to be near him. Grey acknowledges that he wants Ana too, but only on his terms, unable to resist her beauty and independent spirit.

2. Fifty Shades Darker

A stalker inside Christian Grey's room
Image via Universal Studios

In Fifty Shades Darker, Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey renew their relationship on Ana’s terms after the events of the first movie. However, as Christian’s ominous past reemerges and threatens the couple, their relationship is put to the test.

3. Fifty Shades Freed

Anastasia Grey being obedient
Image via Universal Studios

In Fifty Shades Freed, billionaire Christian Grey and his new wife, Anastasia, fully embraced their unshaken connection and shared life of luxury, believing they have put the ominous characters of their past behind them. However, sinister events are revealed just as the Greys are about to assume their new lives, jeopardizing their happy ending before it even began.

In the books, there are a total of six titles written by E.L. James. They include the original trilogy which are Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, and Fifty Shades Freed. The other three are the same stories, but told from the perspective of Christian Grey — which are Grey, Darker, and Freed.