Big L’s Brother Responds To Lord Finesse About “Return of the Devil’s Son” Album

So here’s the story up until this point in case you missed it. In a July HipHopDX interview with Lord Finesse, fellow D.I.T.C. member and mentor of the late legend Big L, stated that his father, who abandoned the family, forced his way back into their lives to eat off his son’s successful career and gained control of his estate when his mom passed away. But because Finesse is “not gonna be financially responsible for this nigga getting paid”, a second posthumous Big L album will never happen.

This caused some confusion as news surfaced about a new album from the slain rapper called Return of the Devil’s Son a couple of months later. Well in another interview with Donald Phinazee, Big L’s brother, the situation is cleared up.

“L’s father controls nothing. I control everything.” Donald replies when asked about Finesse’s interview. He continues, “And I talked to Finesse and I told him about it. I was telling him about it: ‘His father might [try to] do something…’ But, I made a type of arrangement with [L’s father]. So he don’t have nothing to do with nothing… I know how [Finesse] feel though, ‘cause I feel the same way [about L’s father].”

The upcoming album will feature Big L’s 12” debut, Devil’s Son, unreleased tracks and several radio freestyles. Although we’ve already heard a bunch of these songs, we’ve been assured that unlike the versions that are already out there on various mixtapes and vinyls, these are high quality versions mastered directly from the reels.

Return of the Devil’s Son is set to be released on November 23rd. In the meantime, here’s the tracklist, cover art and the first single to be released, “Zone of Danger”. Produced by J-Love, it is a remix of “Danger Zone” from his debut LP, Lifestylez ov da Poor & Dangerous.

Download: Zone of Danger

[audio:|titles=Zone of Danger]


01. Return Of The Devils Son (prod. Showbiz)
02. Devil’s Son (prod. Showbiz)
03. Zone Of Danger (prod. J-Love)
04. Sandman 118
05. School Days
06. Principle Of The New School (prod. Showbiz)
07. Unexpected Flava (prod. Lord Finesse)
08. Tony’s Touch
09. Right To The Top f. Royal Flush & Kool G Rap (prod. Domingo)
10. Once Again (prod. J-Love)
11. Harlem World Universal
12. I Won’t
13. Hard To Kill
14. Power Moves
15. If You Not Aware
16. I Should Have Used A Rubber
17. Doo Wop #5
18. Yes You Can
19. Audition
20. MC’s What’s Going On (prod. Showbiz)
21. Slaying The Mic