OneRepublic Tease Songs From New Album


If there’s one thing that doesn’t remedy the anguish of waiting for a new album, it’s when teaser videos are made from new songs. But OneRepublic doesn’t care too much, and luckily, the wait isn’t much longer. Over the past day, the pop group has been teasing multiple songs – and even bonus deluxe tracks – from their upcoming album, Oh My My.

A couple of twenty second teaser videos have emerged on OneRepublic’s Facebook page, each with clips from new songs such as “Choke,” “Dream,” “Let’s Hurt Tonight,” and the title track, “Oh My My.” These clips are as teasy as they get – they appear to only be the beginning of the song and purely instrumental, so those hoping to get a dose of Ryan Tedder in them will be sorely disappointed.

What we do grasp from the videos, though, is the fact that OneRepublic is going above and beyond with the new record, venturing into territories we haven’t yet heard from them. “Choke” appears to be a mid-tempo ballad while “Dream” sports a funky bass line. We’ve already gotten a full taste of what to expect from “Let’s Hurt Tonight,” as the band performed it live for the first time last month.

Other than the tracks from the standard edition of the album, OneRepublic is getting together with Target for the deluxe edition, which will include an additional four songs. In a behind the scenes video detailing the making of the songs, the band presents their ode to Nashville with the twangy “The Less I Know,” while “Colors” is inspired by Tedder’s sightseeing in Budapest. The band will release Oh My My on October 7th, and it looks like it’s going to be a mixed bag of new, old, and the best of OneRepublic.