Kygo Releases Another Emotional Ballad Ahead Of Album


Ahead of his debut album and signature festival, Kygo has released another taste of what the Cloud Nine LP has in store.

Constructed around an evocative chorus, the track’s thickened ambiance calls to mind imagery of an abandoned cathedral, and there’s a dampness in the space between frequencies. Percussion is uncharacteristically cold against the track’s high reverb atmosphere, and there’s even a bit of pizzicato to complement James Vincent McMorrow’s scampering vocals.

Most notably, however, is the absence of Kygo’s trademark tropical modulations. It’s quite apparent that “I’m In Love” is drawn from a much deeper well than previous singles, and we’re frothing at what else the 24-year-old Norwegian has prepared for the album.

“I’m In Love” is the last release before Kygo‘s Cloud Nine becomes available in full on May 13th. While we’re having trouble waiting for the disc to drop, this song might just be enough to hold us off until then. Listen above and be sure to check out the full tracklist for Cloud Nine below.

1. Intro
2. Stole The Show feat. Parson James
3. Fiction feat. Tom Odell
4. Raging feat. Kodaline
5. Firestone feat. Conrad Sewell
6. Happy Birthday feat. John Legend
7. I’m In Love feat. James Vincent McMorrow
8. Oasis feat. Foxes
9. Not Alone feat. Rhodes
10. Serious feat. Matt Corby
11. Stay feat. Maty Noyes
12. Nothing Left feat. Will Heard
13. Fragile feat. Labrinth
14. Carry Me feat. Julia Michaels
15. For What It’s Worth feat. Angus & Julia Stone