Rocksteady’s Long-Rumored Superman Game May Be Present At E3 Next Week

By
x

It was the question on everyone’s lips circa 2015: what comes after Batman: Arkham Knight?

Rocksteady’s acclaimed actioner was the third and final chapter in its beloved Batman series, but with E3 2018 almost upon us, there’s a great deal of speculation surrounding the studio’s next title.

A full-blown Justice League game was name-dropped as a possible contender early on, but over on 4Chan, it’s being alleged that Rocksteady’s latest project involves the Man of Steel, and he’s even reserved his place on the front cover of next month’s Game Informer magazine. Finally, this supposed leak claims that the full reveal will take place during Microsoft’s E3 2018 press conference.

Take all this with a pinch of salt, of course, as Rocksteady has made no mention of its alleged Superman game. But the timing of this leak is suspicious, as outlets like Game Informer are often privy to unreleased titles and information still under embargo, so it’s entirely possible that a brand new Superman game is in the works over at Rocksteady.

2995837-batman-arkham-asylum-pc

Whether it retains the same gameplay mechanics and tone of the studio’s Arkham series is another question entirely, but it wouldn’t be all that surprising to see Rocksteady remain in the superhero genre after achieving such high levels of success with Batman.

What’s more, a Rocksteady-backed Superman title would become the second big comic book IP on E3’s guestlist, what with Insomniac’s Spider-Man (release date: September 7th) also expected to make a big splash when the lights go down next week.

Microsoft’s E3 presentation begins Sunday, June 10th, at 1 pm PT (4 PM ET / 9 PM BST), and we’ll be keeping one ear to the ground just in case Rocksteady’s long-rumored Superman game is in attendance.

All Posts