Home Anime

How to watch ‘My Hero Academia’ in order

If you think watching chronologically is the best way to enjoy “My Hero Academia,” think again.

Deku, Ochako and Katsuki from My Hero Academia facing the camera
Image via Bones

My Hero Academia first aired in 2016 and since then, the series has been on rocket boosters, becoming one of the most popular anime of today. With its vast roster of unique characters, epic fight scenes, and original premise, it’s no surprise that it caught on the way it has.

Recommended Videos

The series follows Izuku Midoriya as he strives to become a superhero, despite being born with no hero powers of his own. Japan’s greatest Hero All Might sees potential in Izuku and names him as his successor, helping him to get into school for heroes-in-training. Here, he meets plenty of other talented students all with their own unique quirks.

Based on the manga of the same name first released in 2014, there is plenty to like about My Hero Academia. Right now is the best time to get into the series if you have yet to do so, as there is plenty of content to indulge in across all of anime’s most popular release types, and 2024 is only looking to grow the popular Shonnen series.

First, you’ll need to know the best way to experience this story, and we’ve got you covered.

The best My Hero Academia viewing order

Deku from My Hero Academia clenching his first
Deku featured in multiple seasons, movies, and OVAs for My Hero Academia. Image via Studio Bones

My Hero Academia has a bunch of content to get through including five seasons of the series, multiple films, OVAs, and special episodes.

Unlike other anime series, chronological order is not the ideal way to experience this show, as flashback content is better with an understanding of the characters. Given this, here is the ideal watch order for My Hero Academia.

  • My Hero Academia: Season 1
  • My Hero Academia: Save! Rescue Training! (OVA)
  • My Hero Academia: Season 2: Episodes 1-20
  • My Hero Academia: Training of the Dead (OVA)
  • My Hero Academia: Season 2: Episodes 21-25
  • My Hero Academia: All Might: Rising (Special Episode)
  • My Hero Academia: Two Heroes (Movie)
  • My Hero Academia: Season 3 Episodes 1-14
  • My Hero Academia: Make it! Do-or-Die Survival Training (OVA)
  • My Hero Academia: Make it! Do-or-Die Survival Training Part 2(OVA)
  • My Hero Academia: Season 3 Episodes 15-25
  • My Hero Academia: Season 4
  • My Hero Academia: Heroes Rising (Movie)
  • My Hero Academia: Season 5 Episodes 1-18
  • My Hero Academia: Hero League Baseball (OVA)
  • My Hero Academia: Laugh! As if You Are in Hell (OVA)
  • My Hero Academia: Season 5 Episodes 19-25
  • My Hero Academia: Departure (OVA)
  • My Hero Academia: World Heroes’ Mission (Movie)
  • My Hero Academia: Season 6

Fans are turning their eyes to what is next for the My Hero Academia series after its sixth season drew to a close back in March 2023. Like many other seasons, this latest one continued to cement its place as one of today’s most popular and dominant anime series maintaining the number one spot throughout its season. For those who are yet to start their My Hero journey, there has been no better time to do that than now with plenty to sink your teeth into.

Right now there is no news on when fans can expect season seven of the show, but the first details of the franchise’s fourth film have been shared. This is shaping up to be the darkest outing yet, so there’s a lot to look forward to.

We do know that a fourth film in the My Hero Academia series is scheduled to arrive in summer of 2024, but as we haven’t seen any footage from the movie it is unclear where exactly it will take place in the franchise’s timeline.

Netflix has also shared news that it will be producing an original live-action show based on the My Hero Academia manga. While details on this project are also vague we would suggest that like the streamer’s One Piece series, it will not be a part of the My Hero Academia canon and instead a completely separate story that will likely recap the show’s first seasons.

Here’s how you can watch My Hero Academia online

My Hero Academia is currently available for streaming on both Crunchyroll and Hulu. However, if you run into any location-based restrictions trying to stream through either of these platforms, you might want to consider using a VPN (or Virtual Private Network).

VPNs allow you to alter your viewing location to another country and access more shows & movies across all your streaming platforms of choice. The easiest way to get a VPN is by signing up for a paid VPN service, such as ExpressVPN or NordVPN. Even better, both options offer a 30-day money-back guarantee.

We Got This Covered is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more