Home Anime

What is the best ‘Demon Slayer’ watch order?

From anime to films, here's how to watch 'Demon Slayer' in correct order.

Counted among the best dark fantasy anime of all time, Demon Slayer is one of the most popular anime series today. The show first aired in 2019, and has since gone on to dominate the anime zeitgeist with only three anime seasons and one movie currently available to stream.

Recommended Videos

For those who have yet to venture into the world of Demon Slayer, the series follows a teenager, Tanjiro Kamado, as he endeavors to become a Demon Slayer and cure his younger sister, Nezuko Kamado, of the demon state she has been cursed with. The library of Demon Slayer content is not very vast, and you’ve probably already worked out the best binging order. But if you’re still looking for the definitive roadmap, here’s the correct order to get familiar with the world of Demon Slayer.

Demon Slayer watch guide

At present, the watch order for Demon Slayer may not be overly complex, but rest assured that as this epic saga continues to expand and new content emerges from the shadows, this article will be updated to reflect the exact chronological sequence of its captivating plot.

1. Demon Slayer: Kimetsu No Yaiba (2019)

Adapted from the manga series of the same name, Demon Slayer’s first anime release tells the story of Tanjirou Kamado as he searches for a cure that will rid his sister Nezuko of her demon ailment. The boy learns more about demons and sharpens his skills as a hunter in this 26-episode anime run.

2. Demon Slayer: Kimetsu No Yaiba the Movie: Mugen Train (2020)

Following the anime series, the first film in the Demon Slayer franchise tells the story of the Mugen Train arc from the manga, which takes place right after the first season of the show. The film follows Tanjiro and his team investigating a train that had seen more than 40 passengers go missing. The group teams up to take on the demon that has been inhabiting the transport.

3. Demon Slayer: Kimestu No Yaiba Season 2: Entertainment District Arc (2021)

Demon Slayer’s second season comes in after the Mugen Train film and tells another story from the show’s manga source material, the Entertainment District Arc. In this season, we meet more powerful characters than ever before, both in the demon department and in the hunter department, prominently featuring Sound Hashira Tengen Uzui.

4. Demon Slayer: Kimestu No Yaiba Season 3: Swordsmith Village Arc (2023)

The Swordsmith Village arc is here as the latest addition to the Demon Slayer story. This tale brings fans the story from manga chapters 98 to 127, with all new friends, enemies, and one of the best anime fight sequences we’ve ever seen. The action-packed finale even crashed the streaming website Crunchyroll!

5. Demon Slayer: Kimestu No Yaiba Season 4: Hashira Training Arc (2024)

Announced at the end of season 3, Demon Slayer is coming back with season four and a fresh arc for fans to enjoy. The Hashira Training arc will see Tanjiro get some intense training with some of the strongest demon slayers in all of the land. The latest it can land on Crunchyroll is in the fall of 2024.

For those of you who find yourselves thirsting for more Demon Slayer content, the manga series that breathed life into the anime awaits your exploration. The manga takes a closer look into the universe of Demon Slayer and spans 23 intriguing volumes. The franchise also has a number of video games that can be played on consoles and mobile devices.

As the anime’s monumental success continues to cast its shadow, one thing remains clear: the future of Demon Slayer is bright, promising a feast of thrilling tales yet to be told.